A Sunset to Remember

11 Apr

One of my favourite nights in Peru was definitely seeing a sunset on top of the sand dunes in Huacachina. I love sunsets (who doesn’t?), but this one really stands out compared to most I’ve seen.

Seriously, everyone NEEDS to do this if they’re in Huacachina.

It was one of those moments in my life where I kept thinking I love my life. I love my life. I love my life. It was one of those moments where I felt so privileged to be there in Peru and in the presence of such great people. As corny as it sounds, I wanted this moment to last forever.

It’s not about just seeing the sunset itself. Rather, it was the adventure getting there. The good company definitely helped too.

I’ll explain…

The sand dunes in Huacachina are very steep. So if you want to get to the top, prepare for a difficult climb.

I know this is a ridiculous picture, but I feel like it truly shows how steep the dunes are…

SO steep!

My new friend Chris asked me if I had climbed the dunes for sunset yet. When I told him that I hadn’t, he insisted that my friend J-Lo and I went with him.

He was working at The Pub in town and was getting accommodation, food and drinks for free so he felt that it would be a nice gesture to buy a bottle of rum and a bottle of coke for us to all share during sunset.

Tip #1: Climb the dunes in a zig zag pattern! Chris gave us this tip and it was much easier than just walking straight up.

Tip #2: Obviously don’t drink too much when you know that you need to get back DOWN the dunes at some point, But I definitely loved the idea of bringing some rum with us. It was enjoyable just casually passing around some rum and coke while having deep conversations about life. Nothing better than that. It was freeing in a way.

Tip #3: Although I’m sure it would be nice climbing the dunes by yourself and enjoying the sunset in silence, consumed by your own thoughts, it was just such an amazing experience to share with other people. So go with other people!

 

Candid shots are the best! Thanks Chris!

In my case, I enjoyed this sunset with two of the best friends I made during my entire trip.

As you can tell from the above picture, J-Lo was the crazy, awesome friend I was seriously destined to meet. The perfect traveling team. We’re likely meeting up again in Southeast Asia this summer!

And then there was Chris. An Irish-born guy from “Australi-er” (Yes, I am mocking you Chris :-P). Such an interesting guy. He is seriously going to change the world one day. I ended up meeting up with him in Bolivia a little over a month after I left Huacachina!

I have no doubt that we’ll meet again one day (maybe when I move to Australia for a couple of years?).


This night in Huacachina was definitely one of the best nights of my trip. Great friends, great conversation, great drinks (Chris thought we liked our drinks way too strong haha! It wasn’t strong AT ALL), and of course, a beautiful sunset viewed from the top of massive sand dunes.

Nothing could’ve made this moment better. It was perfect.

It’s times like these where I really can stop to appreciate all that I have. Where I feel so incredibly lucky to be alive.

Have you ever had a moment like this in your travels?


Leave a Reply

