One of the most exciting things about travel is…

31 May

…booking a flight!!!

I am excited to announce that I just booked a flight to Bangkok, Thailand!

I will be leaving YYZ (Toronto Pearson Int’l Airport) in the morning of July 17th and I will be arriving at BKK at around 11 pm on the 18th.

I’ve been planning for months, but it really just doesn’t seem completely real until it’s official.

Well, it’s official!

There’s no going back now.

I will be backpacking around Southeast Asia from July 18th to September 5th.

I am REALLY on a budget. But, this time, instead of going solo, at least half of my time there I will be traveling with a friend and we will help each other stick to our budget.

I’ve done a lot of researching and thinking about this trip and it will mostly be spent in Thailand — Bankok, Chiang Mai, Ko Pha Ngan, Phuket, Ko Phi Phi and Koh Lanta hopefully. However, I will also be heading to Luang Prabang and Vang Vieng in Laos, Hanoi in Vietnam, Siem Reap and (maybe) Sihanoukville in Cambodia, and possibly Bali. If I don’t go to Bali, then I will keep Kuala Lumpur and Penang in Malaysia as well as Singapore in my mind.

BUT, as we all know, it’s VERY hard to stick to a strict schedule as a backpacker. My original itinerary for Peru turned out to be completely different. I ended up in Bolivia! So, although I have a basic idea of where I want to go and how long I will spend in each place, the only days that I am sure of where I’ll be are Bangkok on my arrival and departure date and Ko Pha Ngan on August 14th for the Full Moon Party.

I’m excited to bathe and feed elephants in Chiang Mai, to eat crickets and drink Thai buckets on Khao San Road, to watch the sun rise over Angkor Wat, to cruise Halong Bay in Vietnam, to drink snake blood (and maybe even eat the still beating heart), to party until the sun rises in Ko Pha Ngan, to go tubing in Vang Vieng, and most importantly, to soak up the culture as best as I can in the short amount of time I have there and create memories to last a lifetime.

Other than that, who knows where this trip will take me. I’m excited, I’m ready, and I hope SE Asia is ready for us!

Meet my partner in crime, Ashley.

2 Responses to “One of the most exciting things about travel is…”

  1. Ashley Lounsbury May 31, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    CAN’T WAIT!!! ❤

  2. Brittany G. Garcia July 7, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    It would be nice if you can visit Borneo also and visit the Orang Utan and Mount Kinabalu.

Leave a Reply

