The Time I Was A Celebrity In Peru

8 Jun

There’s one thing I know for sure, which is that foreigners are, in some way, more attractive, more interesting… just more, in general.

My girl friends tell me how hot they think guys with Australian or British accents are. My guy friends tell me that French chicks are SO sexy. Personality isn’t nearly a key factor in these cases as it normally is.

And foreigners think the same things about us Westerners.

Thai women love Western men. Italian men love American blonde women.

South Americans, in general, find Caucasians fascinating. Especially if you’re blonde or if you have pale skin (I definitely fall into the latter category).

A man proposed to me as I was walking through downtown Lima. Like, actually got down on one knee in front of a huge group of people and proposed!

Another man who ran the internet cafe in the tiny town I was living in took a special interest in me.

None of this, however, compared to the welcome I received when I visited Huaca de la Luna in Trujillo, Peru.

Oh, you know, just signing some autographs. No big deal.

It wasn’t just me though. It was everyone I was with. I wondered why we were receiving such an overwhelming welcome at this particular place. I still don’t fully understand it, but  I assume it’s because Trujillo is a place less traveled than most areas in Peru, so it isn’t common to see ‘white’ people.

Anyway…

It was an unusually nice Saturday morning in Trujillo, Peru.

Me and some fellow volunteer archaeologists took taxis to Huaca de la Luna (located approximately 4 km outside of Trujillo). We got out of our taxis and were literally swarmed by dozens of school children.

I was a little confused.

And then they started pushing notebooks and paper towards us signalling for us to give them our “autographs”!

A few of the people in our group spoke Spanish and it turned out that the children actually thought we might be celebrities and, even if we weren’t, they just wanted to know more about us and where we came from.

Hannelore and I didn't mind posing for the paparazzi...

Everyone was snapping pictures of us and asking to take pictures with us. I mean, I know it’s South America and I should expect these things to happen because they really do happen everywhere in Peru, but never happen to this extent.

It was… weird, but at the same time it was such a unique cultural experience.

When I think about Canada, if I’m walking around Toronto for the day, I’m bound to see a wide spectrum of ethnicities, which is completely normal unlike Peru.

So, that’s how I was almost famous for a day.

Lesson learned from this: If you’re blonde and Caucasian and you’re looking to find a husband quickly, South America is the place to go.

Leave a Reply

